New Perspectives

New Perspectives

The IIR’s Re-launched and Revamped English Language Journal

We are currently working on a new website, which will be available from October 2016. In the meantime, please find the current and past issues of New Perspectives on our blog.

New Perspectives seeks to provide interdisciplinary insight into the politics and international relations of Central and Eastern Europe (CEE). In encouraging interdisciplinary perspectives on CEE IR and Politics - broadly understood - we seek to widen and deepen interpretive and explanatory frameworks for creating useful knowledge on and in the region and support regional contributions to theoretical, conceptual and methodological development more widely.

Building on the success of its forerunner, Perspectives (founded in 1993), the journal has recently been transformed in order to keep pace with developments in international political research and to support the development of current and future IR research communities in Central and Eastern Europe and their connectedness to research communities in the wider world.

New Perspectives seeks to encourage and publish original research that is: methodologically systematic, rigorous and reflexive; theoretically innovative and compelling; or empirically ground-breaking. We interpret the borders of ‘Central and Eastern Europe’ broadly and so encourage submissions that reflect this.

New Perspectives seeks to attract submissions which address political aspects of regional affairs and their connections to the wider world, from the fields of: International Relations, Political Science, Security Studies and International Political Sociology; International Political Economy; Geography; Sociology; Anthropology; History; Cultural Studies and Legal Studies.

New Perspectives operates a rigorous peer-review process, facilitated by our world-class editorial board, is listed in the internationally recognised databases of SCOPUS and JSTOR and offers comparatively short turn-around times on submissions. All submissions should be sent to tallis[at] - please refer to the guidelines for authors before submitting.

Please note that our online archive is currently under renovation. You can access past Perspectives issues through CEEOL or JSTOR. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.

Call for papers - now open!


  • Benjamin Tallis, IIR.

Deputy Editor-in-Chief

  • Jakub Eberle, IIR & Charles University in Prague

Managing Editor

  • Tereza Valny, Charles University in Prague

Senior Editors

  • Pavel Barša, IIR
  • J. Peter Burgess, Ecole Normale Supérieur, Paris
  • Derek Sayer, University of Alberta

Associate Editors

  • Ela Drazkiewicz-Grodzicka, National University of Ireland, Maynooth.
  • Gabor Egry, Institute of Political History, Budapest.
  • Kathrin Hoerschelmann, Leibniz Institute, Leipzig.
  • Lubomír Lupták, University of West Bohemia, Plzen.
  • Clara Royer, CEFRES, Prague.
  • Stuart Shields, University of Manchester.
  • Tomasz Zarycki, University of Warsaw.

Assistant Editors

  • Jan Blažek, IIR.
  • Jan Daniel, IIR.
  • Markéta Wittichová, IIR.


New Perspectives Editorial Board


Louis Armand

Charles University, Prague

Pelin Ayan

Anglo-American University, Prague

Milica Bakić-Hayden

University of Pittsburgh

Pamela Ballinger

University of Michigan

Mitchell Belfer

Metropolitan University Prague

Dorothee Bohle

Central European University, Budapest

Mats Braun

Metropolitan Univeristy in Prague

Christian Bueger

Cardiff University

J. Peter Burgess

Peace Research Institute, Oslo

Kathy Burrell

University of Liverpool

Juraj Buzalka

Comenius University in Bratislava

Vasyl Cherepanyn

National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy

Ondřej Císař

Charles University, Prague

Gary Cohen

University of Minnesota

Rupert Cox

University of Manchester

Mitchell Dean

Copenhagen Business School

Ondřej Ditrych

Charles University, Prague

Jan Drahokoupil

European Trade Union Institute, Brussels

William Eddleston

Anglo-American University, Prague

Ela Drążkiewicz-Grodzicka

National University of Ireland

Matthias Ebenau

German Metal Workers’ Union, Beverungen

Gábor Egry

Institute of Political History, Budapest

Rachel Epstein

University of Denver

Rick Fawn

University of St. Andrews

Andrej Findor

Comenius University in Bratislava

Karolina Follis

Lancaster University

Dariusz Gafijczuk

Newcastle University

Sarah Green

University of Helsinki

Béla Greskovits

Central European University, Budapest

Jakub Grygar

Charles University, Prague

Jane Hardy

University of Hertfordshire

Kathrin Hoerschelmann

Durham Univerisity

David Hugill

York University, Toronto

Julien Jeandesboz

University of Amsterdam

Markus Kienscherf

Free University of Berlin

Michal Kořan

Institute of International Relations, Prague

James Krapfl

McGill University, Montreal

Fritz Kratochwil

Central European University, Budapest

Petr Kratochvíl

Institute of International Relations, Prague

Vendulka Kubálková

University of Miami

Xymena Kurowska

Central European University, Budapest

Merje Kuus

University of British Columbia

Taras Kuzio

University of Alberta

David Lipka

Anglo-American University, Prague

Lubomír Lupták

University of West Bohemia

Nicolas Maslowski

Charles University

Marek Mikuš

Comenius University in Bratislava

Can Mutlu

Bilkent University, Ankara

Martin Myant

European Trade Union Institute, Brussels

Andrew Neal

University of Edinburgh

Iver Neumann

London School of Economics

Zoran Oklopcic

Carleton University, Ottawa

Hannes Peltonen

University of Tampere

Jiří Přibáň

Cardiff University

Michal Pullman

Charles University, Prague

Ivana Radačić

Ivo Pilar Institute of Social Sciences, Zagreb

Prem Kumar Rajaram

Central European University, Budapest

Erik Ringmar

Lund University

Paul Roe

Central European University, Budapest

Jan Růžička

Aberystwyth University

Mark Salter

University of Ottawa

Derek Sayer

Lancaster University

Stuart Shields

University of Manchester

Helene Sjursen

Arena Centre for European Studies, University of Oslo

Ondřej Slačálek

Charles University, Prague

Eva Špačková

VSB Technical University of Ostrava

Łukasz Stanek

University of Manchester

Luděk Sýkora

Charles University, Prague

Johan van der Walt

University of Luxembourg

Wouter Werner

VU University Amsterdam

Andrew Wilson

University College London

Ruben Zaiotti

Dalhousie University

Kimberly Elman Zarecor

Iowa State University

Tomasz Zarycki

University of Warsaw

Peter Zusi

University College London

ISSN: 1210-762X